Olivia Series by Yael Politis – Hystorical Fiction

A new year full of joy and hope, health and wealth to everyone. The Holiday Season is over now, so back to the world of words.

Featured author today is Yael Politis and her latest novels published in December 2013.

The Author  Yael Politis grew up in Dearborn, Michigan, not far from Olivia’s farm. She spent years researching the backdrop for Olivia’s story, enjoying the challenge of recreating daily life in another time and place. She based many of the details (including how Mourning got his name) on letters and journals passed down through her family, over seven generations of lives lived in the American Midwest. She received a great deal of insight from her sister Martha, who lived in a modern log home, hunted her own land, and was as independent and stubborn as Olivia.

Yael photo

Yael Politis gave up writing for a few years and then devoting all her time and energy to an old and forgotten project (called Tonia) she came out with her debut novel The Lonely Tree, inspired by her life in on the Gaza Strip.The Lonely Tree is a well known symbol of the area and all the characters, especially Tonia are lonely in their own way,although connected to each other with deep roots.

After her debut with The Lonely Tree, Yael Politis has written Olivia Series, a well researched historical fiction story,with lots of details of farm life in 1840, laws and attitudes in the slave era of the old American mid-west.


Author’s Blog



Olivia, Mourning: Book 1 of the Olivia series

Book Details

Historical Fiction (Michigan and Pennsylvania, 1840s)

List Price: eBook $5.99,  Paperback $14.99
Page Count: 409, Word Count: 132,000
ISBN: 1493652451

Publication Date: December 9, 2013

Book Description

Olivia wants the 80 acres in far off Michigan that her father left to whichever of his offspring wants to stake a claim. As Olivia says, “I’m sprung off him just as much as Avis or Tobey.”

The problem: she’s seventeen, female, and it’s 1841.

Mourning Free knows how to run a farm and Olivia has complete trust in him.

The problem: he’s Black, the orphaned son of runaway slaves, and reluctant to travel and work with a white girl. He especially fears the slave catchers who patrol the free states, hunting fugitives.

Not without qualms, they set off together. All goes well, despite the drudgery of survival in an isolated log cabin. Incapable of acknowledging her feelings for Mourning, Olivia thinks her biggest problem is her unrequited romantic interest in their young, single neighbor.

Then her world falls apart.

Strong-willed, vulnerable, and compassionate, Olivia is a compelling protagonist on a journey to find a way to do the right thing in a world in which so much is wrong.

Olivia Mourning 1 75

Olivia Killian is a strong character, an independent young woman who is not afraid to take charge of her own destiny. She doesn’t like to be a victim so she planned her escape from unpleasant circumstances at home and succeeds.

While struggling with her own life she perseveres with the help of her black friend Mourning. She sees the injustice of racial hatred around her and rejects it.


The Way the World Is: Book 2 of the Olivia series

Way the World is 1 75

 Book Details

Historical Fiction (Michigan and Pennsylvania, 1840s)

List Price: eBook $5.99
Page Count: 344, Word Count: 118,000

Publication Date: December 9, 2013

Book Description
Please note that this is Book 2 of a series. While it can be read on its own, readers who begin with Book 1, Olivia, Mourning, will have a deeper understanding of the characters.
Detroit Michigan, 1842  –  After the devastating trauma she suffered in Olivia, Mourning and finally knowing the reality with which she must deal, Olivia strives to rebuild herself – emotionally, socially, and financially.
She starts a new life in Detroit, the young and exciting city on a river where she has come to feel at home. New friends help the healing process, while she continues her search for the two people she loves, who have disappeared from her life. She finds the greatest solace in helping fugitive slaves escape over the river to Canada. She believes, as one of her new friends says, “In this time and place it is the most worthy thing a person can do.”
Olivia remains a compelling protagonist on a journey to find a way to do the right thing in a world in which so much is wrong.

7 thoughts on “Olivia Series by Yael Politis – Hystorical Fiction

  1. Pingback: Authors Promotion blog | Books by Yael Politis

  2. yikes need to read third book , please tell me when it will it be out,
    i got a little confused that the the first book actually had two stories in it per say . thank you for a great novel .


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.